Home Cricket Kolkata Knight Riders Crush SunRisers Hyderabad to Secure Third IPL Title

Kolkata Knight Riders Crush SunRisers Hyderabad to Secure Third IPL Title


KKR’s Dominant Performance

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) clinched their third IPL title with a commanding victory over SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the IPL2024 final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Mitchell Starc and Andre Russell were the stars of the show as KKR bowled out SRH for a mere 113 and chased down the target in just 10.3 overs.

Starc and Russell Shine

Mitchell Starc was magical with the ball, taking 2/14 in his initial spell and setting the tone for KKR’s dominance. Starc’s performance justified his hefty auction price of Rs 24.75 crore. His deliveries were unplayable, particularly one that dismissed Abhishek Sharma with a ball that swung late and clipped the off-bail. This delivery would have troubled any batsman, and Abhishek was the unfortunate victim in IPL2024.

Andre Russell, playing his first IPL final for KKR, was equally impressive. He took 3/19 in 2.3 overs, removing key SRH batsmen and ensuring they never got a chance to recover. Russell’s all-around performance, including his powerful hitting in the middle overs, made a significant impact on the game.

SRH’s Batting Collapse

SRH’s batting lineup crumbled under pressure. Travis Head was dismissed for a duck, nicking a delivery from Vaibhav Arora to wicketkeeper Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Rahul Tripathi also fell early, struggling against the extra pace and bounce of Starc’s deliveries. By the end of the Powerplay, SRH were reeling at 40/3.

Heinrich Klaasen and Aiden Markram attempted to steady the ship but could not withstand the relentless pressure from KKR’s bowlers. Klaasen scored 16 off 17 balls before falling to Harshit Rana, who bowled a tight spell of 2/24 in 4 overs. Markram managed 20 runs before being dismissed by Russell, effectively ending SRH’s hopes of a competitive total.

Venkatesh Iyer’s Heroics

In response, KKR’s chase was swift and brutal. Venkatesh Iyer led the charge with an unbeaten 52 off just 26 balls, including 4 fours and 3 sixes. His aggressive batting ensured KKR reached the target in just 10.3 overs, making the victory look effortless. Iyer’s performance was a reminder of his talent and potential, helping KKR complete the formalities with ease.

Shreyas Iyer’s Leadership

KKR’s captain, Shreyas Iyer, had a memorable night, guiding his team to victory and joining Gautam Gambhir as the only KKR captains to win IPL titles. Iyer’s calm and composed leadership was crucial throughout the tournament, and he played a significant role in KKR’s success.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz’s All-Round Contribution

Rahmanullah Gurbaz was another standout performer for KKR. He scored 39 runs and took three crucial catches behind the stumps. Gurbaz’s presence was vital, especially after he had to leave the tournament midway to attend to his ailing mother in Kabul. His return and subsequent performance added to the team’s morale and success.

The Importance of Team Spirit

KKR’s victory was a testament to their team spirit and collective effort. Every player had a story of resilience and determination, contributing to the team’s success. From Sunil Narine rediscovering his form with both bat and ball to Varun Chakravarthy making a remarkable comeback, KKR’s journey was marked by individual brilliance and strong teamwork in IPL2024.

Chandrakant Pandit’s Impact

Head coach Chandrakant Pandit, known for his success in domestic cricket, added another feather to his cap by leading KKR to an IPL title. His ability to inspire and strategize was evident throughout the season, making him a key figure in KKR’s triumph.

KKR’s comprehensive victory in the IPL2024 final highlights their dominance and skill. The team’s all-round performance, led by Mitchell Starc and Andre Russell, was too much for SRH to handle. With this win, KKR has firmly established itself as one of the most successful franchises in IPL history, joining CSK and MI in the elite club of three-time champions.