Home Cricket India’s T20 World Cup 2024 Triumph, Suryakumar Yadav Named ‘Best Fielder’ in...

India’s T20 World Cup 2024 Triumph, Suryakumar Yadav Named ‘Best Fielder’ in Epic Final Victory


Suryakumar Yadav Shines as ‘Best Fielder’

Suryakumar Yadav was named the ‘Best Fielder’ for the T20 World Cup 2024 final between India and South Africa in Barbados. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah honored the star Indian batter with the ‘Fielder of the Match’ award following India’s thrilling win over South Africa by seven runs. This victory marked the end of India’s long drought for an ICC trophy.

Medal Ceremony Celebration

The BCCI posted a video of the medal ceremony on their X handle (formerly Twitter). The ceremony, held in the dressing room, showcased the team’s joy and camaraderie after their phenomenal win.

In the last over of the match, Suryakumar Yadav made a stunning catch at long-off to dismiss David Miller. This crucial catch played a significant role in India’s comeback, helping them secure a seven-run victory.

Praise from the Fielding Coach

India’s fielding coach T Dilip praised every player for their exceptional performance in the final match. “We talk about rising to the occasion in big games; today, we didn’t just rise but conquered. The intensity, camaraderie, and resilience shown throughout the tournament were nothing short of extraordinary,” T Dilip said.

“Like Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma keep saying, like a pack of wolves, we hunted every opportunity that came our way, leaving no stone unturned,” he added.

Recap of the Final Match

India’s Innings

India won the toss and opted to bat first. After a shaky start, being reduced to 34/3, a counter-attacking partnership between Virat Kohli (76) and Axar Patel (47 off 31 balls, with one four and four sixes) restored India’s position in the game. Their 72-run stand was crucial in stabilizing the innings. Another important partnership of 57 runs between Kohli and Shivam Dube (27 off 16 balls, with three fours and a six) helped India post a competitive total of 176/7 in their 20 overs.

Keshav Maharaj (2/23) and Anrich Nortje (2/26) were the standout bowlers for South Africa, while Marco Jansen and Aiden Markram took a wicket each.

South Africa’s Chase

In pursuit of 177 runs, South Africa faced an early setback, being reduced to 12/2. However, a 58-run partnership between Quinton de Kock (39 off 31 balls, with four boundaries and a six) and Tristan Stubbs (31 off 21 balls, with three fours and a six) brought them back into the game. Heinrich Klaasen’s half-century (52 off 27 balls, with two fours and five sixes) threatened to take the game away from India.

However, Indian bowlers made a remarkable comeback in the death overs. Arshdeep Singh (2/18), Jasprit Bumrah (2/20), and Hardik Pandya (3/20) delivered outstanding performances, restricting South Africa to 169/8 in their 20 overs.

Kohli’s Heroic Performance

Virat Kohli was named ‘Player of the Match’ for his brilliant performance with the bat. His 76 off 59 balls was instrumental in setting a challenging target for South Africa.

India Ends ICC Trophy Drought

By securing their first ICC title since the Champions Trophy in 2013, India ended their 11-year ICC trophy drought. This victory is a testament to the team’s hard work, determination, and resilience.

Emotional Celebrations

The victory led to emotional celebrations among the players and staff. Hardik Pandya, who bowled the final over, was seen crying tears of joy. Captain Rohit Sharma and other players, including Mohammed Siraj, were visibly emotional, highlighting the significance of this triumph for Indian cricket.

Jay Shah Joins the Celebrations

BCCI secretary Jay Shah joined the celebrations, hugging Hardik Pandya and lifting him briefly off the ground. The joyous moment captured the spirit of the team’s hard-fought victory.

India’s victory in the T20 World Cup 2024 final is a historic moment for Indian cricket. The team’s exceptional performance, coupled with Suryakumar Yadav’s stunning catch, ensured a memorable win. This triumph marks the end of India’s long wait for an ICC trophy, and the emotional celebrations underline the significance of this achievement for the team and their fans.