Home Cricket Duleep Trophy Launches Indian Domestic Cricket Season 2024-25

Duleep Trophy Launches Indian Domestic Cricket Season 2024-25


The Indian domestic cricket season 2024-25 will begin with the Duleep Trophy on September 5, as announced by the BCCI on Thursday for T20 World Cup2024.

Season Kickoff with Duleep Trophy

The BCCI has unveiled the fixtures for the 2024-25 season, focusing on strengthening the core of domestic cricket while prioritizing player well-being. The season will commence with the Duleep Trophy, featuring four teams selected by the senior men’s selection committee. The tournament will start in Anantapur on September 5.

Structure of the Season

Early Tournaments

Following the Duleep Trophy, the Irani Cup and the Ranji Trophy will take center stage, with the first five league matches scheduled.

White-Ball Competitions

The white-ball tournaments will begin thereafter, starting with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, followed by the Vijay Hazare Trophy. These competitions will provide a platform for players to showcase their skills in the shorter formats of the game.

Ranji Trophy Resumption

The Ranji Trophy will then resume, featuring the final two league matches before moving into the knockout stages. This structure ensures that players have ample opportunities to compete in various formats throughout the season.

Player Well-being and Scheduling

The BCCI has prioritized player well-being while scheduling the domestic season. This includes extended gaps between matches to ensure adequate recovery time and sustained peak performance.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah stated in a statement that to prioritize player welfare, they have incorporated an extended gap between matches, ensuring ample time for recovery and sustained peak performance.

The 2024-25 season also places a significant emphasis on women’s cricket. All Women’s challenger tournaments, spanning one-day, T20, and Multi-Day formats, will feature teams selected by the national selectors. This move aims to provide more competitive opportunities for women cricketers at the domestic level.

Revamped CK Nayudu Trophy

The CK Nayudu Trophy will see a revamped points system designed to encourage balanced performances. Points will be attributed for both batting and bowling prowess in the first innings, as well as for securing the first innings lead or achieving an outright victory.

“A thorough review will be conducted post-season to evaluate the efficacy of the new points system, with a potential implementation in the Ranji Trophy for subsequent seasons,” Shah added.

Abolition of the Toss

In a landmark decision, the toss will be abolished for CK Nayudu Trophy matches. Instead, the visiting team will have the privilege to elect whether to bat or bowl first. This move aims to create a more balanced and competitive environment.

The BCCI’s comprehensive planning for the 2024-25 domestic season reflects its commitment to enhancing the quality of domestic cricket while prioritizing player well-being. The introduction of new formats, scheduling adjustments, and a focus on women’s cricket signify a progressive approach to developing the sport at the grassroots level. As the season kicks off with the Duleep Trophy on September 5, fans can look forward to an exciting and competitive year of domestic cricket in T20 World Cup2024.